Heralds of Valdemar Reviews: By the Sword

Ooh. Tacky.
By the Sword
Mercedes Lackey
Standalone

By the Sword is an example of Lackey at her thematic best. Not so much structure-wise, but that’s ok. I can forgive that (others may disagree). By the Sword is really three short stories, roughly tied together into a novel by our heroine Kerowyn (it rhymes!).

The filk song came first, the book after. I like the song and I like the story, and I enjoy how other Valdemar books make reference to the song. (Kerowyn, in the tradition of her grandmother Kethry and Tarma, hates the song.)

Have I ever mentioned how much I love filk?

This book is almost like a fourth Oath book. Kethry had a brood, and one of her daughter’s offspring is Kero: wannabe hero.

BEYOND THIS POINT THERE BE SPOILERS

Continue reading